Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

Ingredients
•    1 1/3 cups uncooked white rice
•    2 2/3 cups water
•    4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
•    2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
•    2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
•    1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup
•    1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
•    1 onion, chopped
•    1 1/2 cups mild salsa
Directions
1.    Place rice and water in a saucepan, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes.
2.    Meanwhile, place chicken breast halves into a large saucepan, and fill the pan with water. Bring to a boil, and cook for 20 minutes, or until done. Remove chicken from water. When cool enough to handle, cut meat into bite-size pieces.
3.    Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking dish.
4.    In a medium bowl, combine Monterey Jack and Cheddar cheeses. In a separate bowl, mix together cream of chicken soup, cream of mushroom soup, onion, and salsa. Layer 1/2 of the rice, 1/2 of the chicken, 1/2 of the soup and salsa mixture, and 1/2 of the cheese mixture in prepared dish. Repeat layers, ending with cheese.
5.    Bake in preheated oven for about 40 minutes, or until bubbly.

Source:  http://allrecipes.com/recipe/salsa-chicken-rice-casserole/detail.aspx

One thought on “Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

  1. So I made some changes to the recipe because the original one seemed sort of bland (unseasoned chicken cooked in plain water… really?)

    First, I sauteed the onions with a bit of garlic in a little bacon fat. This isn’t a healthy recipe to start with, and hey bacon. You’ll need to use a large pan with a lid because you’re going to cook the chicken in it next I took the onions out of the pan and then added the chicken breasts which I seasoned with some salt, pepper, chilli powder and paprika. I browned the breasts on both sides. I then added about a cup of water (you can use chicken stock, but I didn’t have any on hand) and let them cook for about 15 minutes or until they’re cooked through. You’ll get amazingly flavorful and juicy chicken this way.

    Second, I had to substitute colby-jack cheese for the monterey jack. My supermarket didn’t have plain shredded jack cheese and I didn’t feel like shredding my own. I also seasoned the cheese with some more chilli powder and paprika. You could probably use a 4 cup bag of taco blend cheese just as easily.

    Last, I used a 16 ounce jar of salsa with a few shakes of tabasco sauce. You definitely will need the extra liquid. I subbed two cans of Campbell’s cream of chicken and mushroom soup (it’s both flavors in one can) instead of the two separate flavored cans. I added the onion/garlic mixture to the salsa and soup. I also added a bit of the chilli powder and paprika to this too.

    The only thing I didn’t season was the rice. I left that plain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

